Seagate Barracuda 2TB hard drive review (0)
Posted at 18 April 2017 13:01 CEST

Today I will be taking a quick look on the Seagate 2TB barracuda hard drive. So lets find out how it performs.


Micron 5100 ECO 1920GB SATA Enterprise SSD Review (0)
Posted at 28 March 2017 12:12 CEST

Welcome to Myce’s review of the Micron 5100 ECO SATA 1920GB Enterprise SSD. This is the second of two reviews featuring Micron’s 5100 range and the first was for the Micron 5100 MAX 960GB model, which you can see by clicking here. We found the Micron 5100 MAX to be an outstanding drive, please read on to see what we make of its ECO sibling.


Ballistix sport LT 2666MHZ DDR4 RAM review (0)
Posted at 20 March 2017 10:56 CEST

Today I will be taking a closer look on the new Ballistix Sport LT DDR4 ram, this is the 4x4GB 2666MHz kit and offers an increase in speed from 2400MHz, lets find out what else it has to offer.


Toshiba X300 6TB High Performance HDD Review (0)
Posted at 14 March 2017 13:31 CEST

Welcome to Myce’s review of the Toshiba X300 6TB SATA Consumer HDD (hereafter referred to as the X300).

I normally review Enterprise Storage products, particularly Enterprise SSDs. As you will see below, Toshiba targets the X300 at professional workstation users; or to put it another way the heavy weight end of the consumer market’s requirements. I am a self-confessed storage freak and I have in excess of 10TB of SSD storage in my home PC, including an NVMe based SSD as my boot drive and SATA and SAS SSDs being run in RAID 0 configurations. These days I can’t imagine that I would ever recommend anyone uses an HDD as a boot drive but I was motivated to investigate what it is like to live with a state of the art, high performance, HDD for data storage in conjunction with an SSD based boot drive. So, with this in mind, I jumped at the opportunity to review the X300.

Please read on to see what I discovered with the X300.


Micron 5100 MAX 960GB SATA Enterprise SSD Review (0)
Posted at 21 February 2017 14:33 CEST

Welcome to Myce’s review of the Micron 5100 MAX SATA 960GB Enterprise SSD. This is the first of two reviews featuring Micron’s 5100 range – the next will be for the Micron 5100 ECO 1920GB model.
All models in the 5100 range feature Micron’s 24 layer, eTLC 3D NAND.
Micron considers the 5100 MAX’s closest competitors to be the Intel SSD DC S3610, the Samsung SM863, the Sandisk Cloudspeed Ultra Gen II, and the Toshiba HK4E. We have previously reviewed the Samsung SM863 and the Toshiba HK4E and we considered them both to be exceptional products, so tough competition indeed. Please read on to see how the Micron 5100 MAX stands up.


Corsair Force MP500 NVMe SSD review (0)
Posted at 03 February 2017 20:31 CEST

Corsair need no introduction, they are one of the very few manufacturers that can do magic with almost everything that they make, and part that our readers are familliar is thier SSD’s, and they do make some excellent SATA SSD’s. This time they went again one step further and released their new Force MP500, their first m.2 NVMe SSD, so lets find out how they Corsair Force MP500 performs.


Samsung 960 EVO 250GB M.2 NVMe SSD Review (2)
Posted at 26 January 2017 23:10 CEST

Samsung’s 960 series of M.2 NVMe SSDs goes mainstream in the shape of the 960 EVO series of SSDs.
Today I’m taking a look at the 250GB version of the Samsung 960 EVO M.2 NMVe SSD.

The 960 EVO uses the Samsung Polaris SSD controller coupled to 3 bits per cell (TLC) 3D V-NAND.
Let’s find out how it performs in this review.


Lexar C20c 64GB flash drive review – The three in one solution (5)
Posted at 22 January 2017 13:42 CEST

Doing something new and refreshing on USB flash drives can a very difficult or very easy task, and it looks like in the case of Lexar it was easy one. The Lexar C20c USB3.1 Gen1 flash drive is a three in one flash drive that offers a lot functionality for its size, comes with good performance and a unique design. Continue reading this review to find all about the Lexar C20c 64GB USB3.1 Gen1 flash drive.


Crucial MX300 2TB SSD Review (4)
Posted at 23 December 2016 21:12 CEST

Time has moved forward and at the same time SSDs have also moved forward and now we have reached the point that the starting capacity of an SSD is more than 240GB. However most of us were thinking when we will see larger SSD and Crucial with their latest 3D NAND is offering the MX300 SSD with capacities up to 2TB, and this is going to be the SSD that I will be reviewing,
So if you want to learn all about the performance of the 2TB MX300 SSD continue reading this review.


ADATA Ultimate SU800 256GB SSD review (0)
Posted at 04 December 2016 10:34 CEST

ADATA has released their new SSD, the Ultimate SU800 and it comes packed with the latest that they have to offer, so its time for me to take a closer look at ADATA’s first 3D NAND SSD and to find you what the SU800 SSD can do.


HyperX Predator 480GB PCIe SSD (0)
Posted at 28 November 2016 21:12 CEST

The HyperX Predator is the fastest PCIe SSD that HyperX has to offer, with read speed up to 1400MB/Sec and write speed up to 1000MB/Sec this drive can easily boot your PC, so lets find out everything there is about the HyperX Predator 480GB PCIe SSD.


OakGate Expandable Desktop Storage Test Platform Review and Demonstration (0)
Posted at 28 November 2016 13:08 CEST

In March 2013 Myce and OakGate Technology (hereafter referred to as OakGate) entered into a joint partnership for the testing and reviewing of enterprise storage products. In keeping with both parties continuing commitment to the partnership, Myce has recently completed the implementation of one of OakGate’s latest test appliances – the Expandable Desktop Storage Test Platform together with an optional 4-Bay U.2 Plug-In Module.

We are now pleased to present this review of our new Enterprise Storage Test Platform.


Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 16GB Memory Review (3)
Posted at 20 November 2016 16:49 CEST

For modern PC’s, 16GB of DRAM is becoming very popular. At the moment, DRAM prices are low, so there is little excuse to skimp on an 8GB memory kit for example.

Today I’m looking at some DDR4 DRAM, in the shape of a Crucial 16GB dual channel memory kit.
In this the kit is the Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB dual channel DDR4 (2x 8GB modules).
Let’s find out how it performs in this review.


ExpressVPN: is its claim of being the fastest VPN on earth correct? (9)
Posted at 11 November 2016 17:34 CEST

In this review we’re going to look at the service provided by VPN provider ExpressVPN. We’re going to look at its privacy protection features, region unblocking functionality, usability and the speed you can expect when browsing and downloading through the VPN. About ExpressVPN ExpressVPN has a VPN network that spans 136 cities in 87 countries. The company is […]


Netac N580 m.2 SSD review (0)
Posted at 06 November 2016 18:48 CEST

Today I’ll be taking a quick look on the Netac N580 m.2 SSD, to find out more about its performance continue reading this review.


Toshiba HK4E SATA 1600GB Enterprise SSD Review (1)
Posted at 04 November 2016 13:51 CEST

Welcome to Myce’s review of the Toshiba HK4E series of SATA Enterprise SSDs.

This review marks an exciting step forward for Myce as it is the first review in which we have used our new OakGate Test Platform. The new OakGate test bench is a state of the art platform which provides us with the ability to test all types of SSDs, including SATA, SAS 2, SAS 3, and PCIe/NVMe, in one integrated solution. We plan to publish a review/profile of our new OakGate Test Platform in the near future.
The Toshiba HK4E is available in capacities of 200, 400, 800, and 1600GB. The subject of this review is the 1.6TB model – the THNSN81Q60CSE.

In this review, I draw readers’ attention to the Myce/OakGate 4K Latency Write Test, where one can see a fascinating insight in to the behaviour and impact of the Toshiba THNSN81Q60CSE’s firmware – please see Page 6.


Samsung 960 Pro M.2 NVMe 1TB SSD Review (5)
Posted at 19 October 2016 08:49 CEST

The Samsung 960 Pro features the new Samsung Polaris SSD controller, coupled to Samsung’s 3rd generation 48 layer V-NAND.

Is the new Samsung 960 Pro M.2 NVMe SSD the new performance champion?
Let’s find out in this review.


IPVanish review – does it really make you vanish? (3)
Posted at 13 October 2016 08:14 CEST

In this review we’re going to look at the service provided by VPN provider IPVanish. We’re going to look at its privacy protection features, region unblocking functionality, usability and the speed you can expect when browsing and downloading through the VPN. About IPVanish IPVanish has a VPN network that spans  40,000+ IPs on 500+ servers in 60+ […]


Toshiba Canvio Connect II 3TB USB 3.0 Hard Drive (0)
Posted at 20 September 2016 13:16 CEST

Following our recent review of the Toshiba Canvio for Desktop, which proved to be popular with our readers, welcome to Myce’s review of the Toshiba Canvio Connect II USB 3.0 Hard Drive. The Canvio Connect II is available in capacities of 500GB, 1TB, 2TB, 2.5TB and 3TB. It is the 3TB model which is the subject of this review. Intriguingly, Toshiba asserts that the drive can be used as a personal ‘cloud’ server; sounds interesting so let’s have a look…


Toshiba OCZ VX500 512GB SSD Review (6)
Posted at 13 September 2016 15:00 CEST

Today I’m taking a look at the latest series of mainstream SATA SSD’s from Toshiba OCZ, the VX500 series.

Let’s see how it performs in this review.


Crucial Ballistix Elite 3000MHz and 3200MHz DDR4 RAM review (1)
Posted at 03 September 2016 10:02 CEST

Today I am taking a quick look on the updated Crucial Ballistix Elite DDR4 RAM, the new updated RAM is available at higher capacities and also in higher speeds, so lets see how the 32GB 3000MHz kit compared to the 16GB 3200Mhz.


Crucial Ballistix Tactical DDR4 RAM review (0)
Posted at 21 August 2016 13:40 CEST

Time to check some fast DDR4 RAM, and this 4x8GB kit is the Ballistix Tactical 3000MHz kit by Crucial. So lets find out how good it perfroms and what advantages you might get with the 3000MHz DDR4 RAM.


Corsair Neutron XTi 480GB SSD Review (1)
Posted at 14 August 2016 14:31 CEST

Time to take in depth look at the best SSD Corsair has to offer. The Neutron XTi SSD is the fastest SSD that Corsair has ever made and you can find everything about it by continuing reading this review.


Toshiba Canvio for Desktop 6TB USB 3.0 Hard Drive (0)
Posted at 03 August 2016 11:43 CEST

Welcome to Myce’s review of the Toshiba Canvio for Desktop 6TB USB 3.0 Hard Drive.

Please read on to see what we make of Toshiba’s huge 6TB external hard drive…


Micron 9100 MAX 2.4TB NVMe Enterprise SSD Review – The New Performance Champion (10)
Posted at 28 July 2016 11:32 CEST

Welcome to Myce’s review of the Micron 9100 MAX 2.4TB NVMe Enterprise SSD.
The Micron 9100 is available in two classes: 9100 PRO (for Read Centric Uses) and 9100 MAX (for Mixed Uses).
We test the high performance 9100 MAX 2.4TB and as our subtitle suggests it proves to be a scorcher – so please read on to see how the Micron 9100 sets new high water marks for Enterprise performance.


Myce.com settings

Several settings at Myce.com can be changed, they are stored in cookies, which means they will be reset if you clear Myce.com cookies

Background

Change the background to a plain color or trianglified image (similar to the default image)

No tracking features

At Myce most social media feature are done server side and impose no privacy risk to the visitor when not used. Several features use Javascript with you can turn off here

Layout

Switch to the List layout for an index with chronologycally listed news items or Grid layout for a block based layout. To see the change you need to reload the page

×