Myce.com Latest Updates
Internet providers caught inflating speed test results (23)
Posted at 25 January 2016 13:37 CET

With the help of TestMy’s speed test, we take a look at the real world throughput of several Internet providers against happens when we attempt to simulate the network activity of Ookla’s Speedtest.net, the preferred speed service most Internet providers recommend using. A few ISPs delivered 3 to 6 times greater throughput despite using the same test server each time, while many other ISPs behave properly, delivering a consistent throughput.


Toshiba PX04SMB160 SAS 1600GB Enterprise SSD Review – The SAS Awakens (0)
Posted at 25 January 2016 11:47 CET

Welcome to Myce’s review of the Toshiba PX04SMB Series of SAS 3 Enterprise SSDs.

Frankly, I was disappointed by the first wave of SAS 3 drives which didn’t unlock the performance potential promised by SAS 3, and its 1200 Gbit/s bandwidth; but with this drive Toshiba smashes it out of the park!

Please read on as I feel this is the best Enterprise SSD I have ever tested!


Crucial Ballistix Sport White 2x8GB RAM Review (0)
Posted at 10 January 2016 19:40 CET

Time to take a quick look at the White Crucial BallistiX Sport DDR4 RAM, and find out how this awesome looking RAM performs.
Continue reading to find out more.


Miroland G19 & G80 Retro Filament Light Bulbs Review (3)
Posted at 24 December 2015 15:40 CET

  Review: Miroland retro filament light bulbs Models: G19 & G80 Reviewed by: Seán Byrne Provided by: GearBest Power rating: 40W 220-240V (both bulbs) GearBest has kindly sent us two different retro style incandescent light bulbs for review, the Miroland models G19, and G80, both rated at 40 watts. LED lightbulb technology has come on […]


ZOTAC ZTSSD A5P Premium SSD Review (0)
Posted at 23 December 2015 21:21 CET

It has been a while since I reviewed a SATA SSD, and with the ZOTAC ZTSSD A5P Premium SSD, the first SSD I have reviewed which uses the Phison S10 SSD controller.

The ZOTAC ZTSSD A5P Premium is aimed at the upper end of the budget consumer SSD market, but how will it perform?

Let’s find out in this review.


Exclusive: DVDFab CinaviaRemoval HD review (16)
Posted at 22 December 2015 04:06 CET

DVDFab has released a new version of their software, with an additional capability that will be welcomed by their existing customers, and will certainly increase interest in their products. This new feature is the removal of the Cinavia signal found in many Blu-ray movies. They call their solution CinaviaRemoval HD and told us it has been developed totally in-house. In this review we’re going to test if it indeed removes Cinavia and if so, how good the resulting audio quality is.


Crucial BX200 960GB SSD review – An affordable SSD (2)
Posted at 11 December 2015 12:38 CET

Today I am taking a closer look at the Crucial BX200 SSD, this is the first generation of TLC SSD from Crucial. The drive promises a very good performance and also a very aggressive pricing. So its time to investigate how mush better is the BX200, especially ont he drive that it replaces, the BX100 and if it can also deliver a good value and performance.
Continue reading to find out more about the Crucial BX200 SSD.


Samsung 950 Pro M.2 NVMe 512GB SSD Review (0)
Posted at 30 November 2015 22:59 CET

Today I’m looking at the 512GB version of the Samsung 950
Pro M.2 NVMe SSD.

Is it faster than the 256GB version I tested a couple of weeks ago?

Let’s find out in this review


Kingston Hyperx Savage SSD Review – A performance SSD (8)
Posted at 23 November 2015 13:19 CET

Time to take a closer look on the latest Hyperx SSD, the Savage SSD is a top of the line drive that not only looks incredible but also performs very good. So lets find out everything there is to know about the Hyperx Savage SSD.


Native Z170 Hyper M.2 vs PCIe3 M.2 (2)
Posted at 12 November 2015 21:32 CET

PCIe3 from the CPU for connecting SSDs is a known quantity. They have a high bandwidth, low latency connection.

Now that NVMe SSDs are making their way into the consumer market segment, in the form of M.2 NVMe SSDs. How will these SSDs compare when they are connected to a ‘native’ M.2 socket, managed by a native chipset solution such as the Intel Z170 hyper M.2 socket.

Let’s find out how they compare in this article.


Shuttle NC01U Mini PC Review (4)
Posted at 09 November 2015 11:26 CET

Welcome to Myce’s review of the Shuttle NC01U Mini PC.

The NC01U is incredibly small – please read on to see how it performs.


Samsung 950 Pro NVMe M.2 SSD Review – NVMe for the masses (16)
Posted at 22 October 2015 18:24 CET

Samsung was kind enough to send me one of their brand new 950
Pro M.2 series NVMe SSDs for review. In this case the 250GB M.2 NVMe version.
There is also a 512GB version available, which I hope to review soon.

The Samsung 950 Pro NVMe M.2 range of SSDs are aimed squarely at mainstream consumers, where the price of the product matters.
Therefore the Samsung 950 Pro will have to compete head on with SATA SSDs where price is concerned.

Let’s find out how this brand new SSD range performs.


Toshiba NFC 32GB SDHC Memory Card Review and Flashair Update (0)
Posted at 07 October 2015 11:49 CET

Welcome to Myce’s review of the Toshiba NFC 32GB SD Memory Card.

This is another first for Toshiba as this is the first NFC card to come to market. NFC stands for ‘Near Field Communication’, which is a clever bit of technology that allows one to preview the contents of a card using an NFC enabled smart phone without having to plug it into a camera or card reader.

We also provide a quick update on the latest generation of Toshiba Flashair SD Memory Card, that we have previously reviewed.


Plextor M6e black review (2)
Posted at 27 September 2015 16:24 CET

Plextor is a familiar name to our readers, and the M6e drive is something that they already know, but this time I will be taking a closer look on the Plextor M6e Black a re-designed drive for those that not only want speed but also they value the overall appearance, not only of the drive but also of their system.
Lets find out more about the M6e black and mainly lets test its performance.


Micron M510DC 480GB Enterprise SSD Review (0)
Posted at 11 September 2015 10:55 CET

With the M510DC; Micron targets the intensely competitive ‘Read Centric, Low Cost’ market segment. Micron brings 16nm MLC NAND to the fight – how does it perform and how does it stand up against its competitors? Please read on to find out.


Micron M510DC SSD review (5)
Posted at 09 September 2015 21:36 CET

Time to take a closer look on the Micron M510DC SSD, a drive that is focused on read workload, but uses that SATA port instead of the SAS, and comes with a lot of enterprise features that can be found on SAS drives.
So time to see how the Micron M510DC does as an SSD, continue reading to find out more.


Seagate 1200 400GB SAS Enterprise SSD Review (0)
Posted at 24 August 2015 16:24 CET

Welcome to Myce’s belated review of the Seagate 1200 400GB SAS Enterprise SSD (hereafter referred to as the Seagate 1200).
Belated, especially as the Seagate 1200 has recently been succeeded by the 1200.2 (which we hope to review soon).
There were a number of reasons for the delay.
Firstly, the sample drive that was sent to Myce came with an early version of the firmware (01), which I found problems with. My thanks to Seagate for sorting this out (especially to Andy Beckwith) and updating the firmware level to 04.
Secondly, the problems were with me.
Suffice to say I am now able to bring you the review using a recent version of the OakGate system, which now includes OakGate’s native 12 Gbit/sec driver. I am keen to put the review into our catalogue of enterprise reviews, even if it is late, as the Seagate 1200 is an important drive from a big player in the enterprise storage market.
Another advantage of performing this review belatedly is that the Seagate 1200 could be subjected to Myce’s comprehensive power consumption testing procedures, as announced here, and the Seagate 1200 gives us our first set of results for an SAS drive.


Toshiba TransMemory EXII 128GB USB3 Review (0)
Posted at 17 August 2015 11:22 CET

Time to take an in depth look at the Toshiba TransMemory EXII 128GB USB flash drive, a drive promises very fast read and write speeds up to 222MB/Sec for the read speeds and 205MB/Sec when it comes to write speed.
Continue reading to find out more about the Toshiba TransMemory EXII.


Consumer Storage Power Consumption – The Truth Revealed (4)
Posted at 06 August 2015 00:53 CET

How much work does an SSD or HDD do for the power it consumes? This article reveals the truth, with unprecedented precision.

Storage device manufacturers by law must provide power consumption specifications with their storage device products. Quite often these specifications are quite vague, and rarely, if ever, publish the power efficiency of their storage devices with regard to how much work a storage device can do for a given amount of energy consumed. In this article we will disclose with unprecedented precision, the energy efficiency of some popular storage devices.

Let’s read on, and find out the energy efficiency of some popular storage devices.


Intel 750 1.2TB NVMe PCIe SSD Review (1)
Posted at 23 July 2015 21:25 CET

Today I’m looking at something new. In fact this article will feature the world’s first SSD, aimed at the professional consumer, to utilise the new NVMe (Non-volatile Memory Express)
interface.

The Intel 750 NVMe SSD plugs into a generation 3 x4 PCIe interface, and is bootable via a motherboard that supports boot from NVMe.

Let’s find out how this SSD performs in this review.


Crucial BallistiX Sport LT 4x4GB DDR4 Review (0)
Posted at 25 June 2015 21:22 CET

Not that long a go I did take a look on the Crucial BallistiX Sport, now there is an newer version that has an update on the aesthetics, and also the LT in the name, the specifications on paper are identical to the previous kit, however lets find out if there are also any differences in the the performance, and also take a closer look on the RAM.
Continue reading to find out more about the Crucial BallistiX Sport LT DDR4


Lexar P20 64GB USB3 Review (2)
Posted at 17 June 2015 16:43 CET

It’s time to take a closer look on on of the fastest USB3 flash drives, the Lexar P20 and see how it performs. Continue reading to out everything about the Lexar P20.


Lexar S25 JumpDrive USB3 64GB Review (0)
Posted at 10 June 2015 13:25 CET

Time has come for me to take a closer look on the new Lexar S25, the Lexar S25 replaces the S23 and as as we can expect we can find some improvement on the specifications but the question remains how much better it is from the S23;
Continue reading to find out more about it.


Myce – Enterprise SSD Power Testing (0)
Posted at 27 May 2015 22:54 CET

This article describes the Power Testing Myce will perform as a standard part of its testing of Enterprise Solid State Storage solutions.

As at May 2015, Myce has been publishing Enterprise SSD reviews for 2 years and in all this time, although we have provided, arguably, the most comprehensive reports on the performance characterisation of solutions based on the use of a world class OakGate Technology test bench, we have not offered anything at all in the testing of a drive’s power consumption characteristics. I am delighted that we will now in one mighty step move from the bottom of the class right to the very top, by offering the most comprehensive power testing ever seen in data storage reviews.


HyperX Fury 4x4GB 2666MHz DDR4 Review (2)
Posted at 03 May 2015 16:05 CET

Time to a take a closer look on the performance of the HyperX 2666MHz DDR4 RAM. Continue reading to find out more on how they perform.


Myce.com settings

Several settings at Myce.com can be changed, they are stored in cookies, which means they will be reset if you clear Myce.com cookies

Background

Change the background to a plain color or trianglified image (similar to the default image)

No tracking features

At Myce most social media feature are done server side and impose no privacy risk to the visitor when not used. Several features use Javascript with you can turn off here

Layout

Switch to the List layout for an index with chronologycally listed news items or Grid layout for a block based layout. To see the change you need to reload the page

×