A new security check from Facebook requires users to send a picture of their face. This way Facebook hopes to prevent automated accounts from joining the social network, according to spokesman of the company.
(Screenshot of Facebook security check – Credits @flexlibris)
A screenshot of the check appeared on Twitter. In the screenshot Facebook promises to permanently delete the photo from its servers after the check has been done. In an interview with Wired, a Facebook spokesman states that Facebook checks whether the photo is unique. During the check users can’t access their Facebook account.
It’s not the first time Facebook asks its users to upload photos to prevent abuse of the social network. Earlier this year, Facebook asked users to upload ‘revenge porn’ to its Messenger service. The images would then get a digital fingerprint which should prevent distribution of the images on the social network. Also with this feature Facebook promised to delete the photos of its servers.